Troubled Waters.

Sometimes in life, we come up against situations that feel impossible to navigate. Storms that start off small, but then evolve into something much darker and all-consuming. I for one, am no sailor, and could never have anticipated that my life could change so drastically.

These past couple of months, have shown me that I will on occasion, be battered by waves that appear indomitable. Thunderous lashings to beat me down, from the crushing weight of the deepest blue. Left feeling like Davey Jones is a desirable companion.

These waves have come in a variety of different guises, most of them appearing as human. Let me tell you now, these by far are the most treacherous. They can cause immense heartache, and pain that feels insufferable. Fear of drowning becomes a suffocating possibility.

Yet there can, and more often than not, will be a beacon.

I didn’t think that amidst a series of unfortunate circumstances, a guiding light could see me through. However, in various forms I have found several, and the sea although wild doesn’t seem as ferocious. Plain sailing isn’t a permanent reality (and neither is the idea of more nautical themed posts…i don’t know how this came about!), but periods of traversing calmer waters certainly is.

Capsizing isn’t the only option, and I’m glad I know this to be a solid truth.

 

Leave a comment