Trust.

Why is that this 5 letter word is so fragile in the hands of humans? A treasure we treat so delicately, yet one we offer to those we care for with an erratically beating heart. It seems illogical. Self preservation would surely dictate we hole it away, in a dark well-cushioned pit in the ground. A pit lined with no fear of dramatic consequence.

We anticipate it’s demise, and we mostly offer it tentatively, but give it up all the same. Then the dry mouth and palpitations start…well for me anyway, but then I’m more of a “where the fuck is that other shoe?!” type of guy. Death by a dangerous sole smashing; I’d really rather not. It’s a bit like watching a crystal ball balance on the head of a pin, and hoping that as time passes, the head will support it’s weight.

I find that more often than not, we observe others as their trust is shattered. Blown apart by lies, omissions of truth, lack of honesty and even noble intentions. It’s heartbreaking. It’s frightening. It’s unfair. It feels unjust, but as depressing as it sometimes seems, it’s not always so harrowing. There isn’t always the need to run for the hills screaming into the wind.

It is in my experience (oh he that believes himself to be so very wise…stay with me here!), that not everyone we happen across is a colossal let down. I mean, there will always be people you want to walk off the edge of a pier, but they aren’t the ONLY flesh-bags out there! Time and again I’ve doled out my trust, to a variety of different vessels and it’s not always led to agonising despair and hellfire.

I’ve found myself in situations, that have made me question if it’s worth the effort. If the potential damage is a worthy trade, to experience the progression of various relationships (family, friends, love interests…the neighbour’s self aggrandising moggy). Hand on heart, I can say it has been. The lessons learnt have helped to outweigh the bad. They’ve also taught me where my limits lie, and what I won’t tolerate. This as a result, has brought me deeper appreciation for the bonds I’ve already forged.

It’s impossible to live a life where some form of betrayal isn’t felt. Betrayal? Too dramatic? Maybe so, but have you ever had someone finish a pot of Pringles after stating they wouldn’t? Aaaaah, now we’re on the same page! My point is, no matter how big or small the affront, our trust WILL be broken time and again. It’s just learning to deal with the fallout, repair the damage and soldier on. It’s never easy, and I’m not saying it’s comfortable, but it can be done.

I believe we trust, because deep down we know it can lead to so much more than regret, disappointment and heartache. I believe it important to trust, because it can be one of the many keys, to finding peace and true happiness.

Leave a comment